Advertisements


Cyndi's List of Genealogy Sites on the Internet
1996-2010: Your genealogy starting point online for more than a decade!
Google
Web CyndisList.com

Browse
Cyndi's List:

  • Main Index
  • Topical Index
  • Alphabetical Index
  • "No Frills" Index
  • Text-Only Index

    Search:
  • Search or Browse

  • Browse New Links
    Submit a New Link
    Mailing List
  • Browse Archives
  • Search Archives
  • RSS Archives
  • Cyndi's List BlogCyndi's List Blog

    SocialTwist Tell-a-Friend

    Cyndi's List

    Promote Your Page Too


    32,000+ titles

    14-Day Free Trial
    Ancestry.com

    Advertisements


    About Cyndi's List About Cyndi's List
    What is Cyndi's List?
    Support Cyndi's List
    Historical Timeline
    FAQ
    Make it Your Homepage!
    Link to Cyndi's List
    Awards & Recognition
    Internet Stuff You Need To Know
    Home Page
    Construction Kit

    About Cyndi's List About Cyndi
    FAQ
    Cyndi's Speaking Schedule & Calendar
    Cyndi's Books:
    Order Planting Your Family Tree Online from Amazon.com
    Planting Your Family Tree Online
    Netting Your Ancestors - Internet How-To Book
    Netting Your Ancestors

    Advertisements

    Cyndi's List Genealogy Bookstore
    Cyndi's List Genealogy Bookstore 

    Discover

    Free Shipping 125x125

    E-Yearbook.com - MILLIONS of Yearbook Photos

    Advertisements


    FAQ (Frequently Asked Questions) FAQ
    (Frequently Asked Questions):
    What is Cyndi's List?
    Before Sending E-mail to Cyndi...
    How to Submit a New Link to Cyndi's List
    How to Report a Broken Link Found on Cyndi's List
    How to Update an Existing Link on Cyndi's List
    New to genealogy and/or the Internet
    "Can you help me with my own research?"
    How You Can Support Cyndi's List
    More FAQs

    Advertisements

    Advertisements


    Advertisements

    Advertisements


    Advertisements

    Advertisements


    Advertisements

    Advertisements


    Canada - Ontario



    General Resource Sites


    Canada GenWeb Project


    Directories


    Government & Cities


    History & Culture


    How To


    Libraries, Archives & Museums


    Locality Specific


    Mailing Lists, Newsgroups & Chat

    Mailing lists are interactive e-mail forums that are free for you to subscribe to and participate in. Click on the links below and be sure to follow the instructions provided exactly as shown in order to subscribe to the mailing list of your choice. Be sure to keep a copy of the welcome message that you receive. This message will contain details about the mailing list, the person who runs the list and instructions you will need in order to participate in the list, unsubscribe from the list, etc.


    Maps, Gazetteers & Geographical Information


    Military


    Newspapers


    People & Families

    Adoptions, biographies, ethnic groups, famous people, immigrants, some family groups, etc.

    • Aboriginal contacts in Ontario 
    • A Canadian Genealogy Project 
      Genealogy research of French Canadian ancestors. Browse the famiy tree to find surnames of the LAPIERRE and CARRIERE families from Northern Ontario and Quebec.
    • Hoffman Photo Index 
      An index of old photographs mostly pre-1900 of identified people mostly Ontario. Linking portraits with interested researchers who would like the original or a copy.
    • Kevin LEE's Family Homepage 
      A Study of some Pioneer Families of Hamilton, Ontario, Canada: LEE, ROLFE, CAMERON, FREEMAN, MISENER, LANG, LAING, BELLING, HOADLEY, HILS, MILLS, PEARSON, BERRY, LEFEVRE, LEFEVER, LEFEBURE, HUBARD, PETTITT, ROBILLARD, WILLIAMS, BRANTON, GOWER.
    • Loyalists 
      See this category on Cyndi's List for related links.
    • The Metis Nation of Ontario 
    • St Joseph Island BISHOPs 
      History of John BISHOP and Barbara CALVIN, first BISHOPs on St. Joseph Island, Ontario, Canada.
    • Upper Canada Genealogy - Gore District Debtors 
      An index of names of residents of Gore District who were jailed for unpaid debts and the people to whom they owed money, for the period 1832 to 1849. The Gaol (Jail) was located in Hamilton, and Gore District covered the counties of Wentworth, Halton, Wellington, Waterloo, Brant and Oxford in Ontario, Canada (also known as Upper Canada and Canada West). The original register also includes the amount of the debt, the specific dates of committal and discharge, and the names of the judge and attorneys involved.
    • Young Immigrants to Canada 


    Professional Researchers, Volunteers & Other Research Services

    Links to professional researchers found on Cyndi's List are included as a courtesy. Unless otherwise stated, the existence of these links on Cyndi's List does not imply endorsement of the services or products provided by those professional researchers. See also: Disclaimers


    Publications, Software & Supplies


    Queries, Message Boards & Surname Lists


    Records: Census, Cemeteries, Land, Obituaries, Personal, Taxes and Vital
    (Born, Married, Died & Buried)

    The sites found in this category vary in content. Some sites have extractions or transcriptions of actual records. Other sites have helpful lists, articles, tips or guidelines. In a few cases there are scanned images of the original source documents themselves, with more of these types of records coming online each day. Keep in mind that extractions & transcriptions may have errors or may be missing certain portions of the original source material. Always refer to the original source material whenever possible and only use extractions & transcriptions as a starting point to help guide you in your research.

    LeafCemeteries

    LeafCensus

    • 1842 Malahide Township Elgin County, Ontario Census Index 
    • 1851 Census Adolphustown Township  ~ Ontario, Canada
    • 1881 Canadian Census 
      CD-ROM for sale from the LDS. Four-disc resource file includes a viewer disc that allows users to quickly search the database of approximately 4.3 million individuals. The discs contain a transcription of the original 1881 Canadian census, enumerated on 4 April 1881. Information from the following fields was extracted: name, age, gender, location at the time of the census, birthplace, ethnic origin, occupation, religious affiliation, marital status, and notations.
    • 19th Century Census for Northumberland County, Ontario 
      Hamilton township census and assessment records 1804-1848 (includes Cobourg).
    • Alberta Family Histories Society (AFHS) Genealogical Projects Registry 
      A central registry, which provides a bibliography of genealogical projects, both online and offline, in Canada. The registry is categorized by province/territory, then by record type: births, marriage, census, deaths, and other.
    • Ancestry.com 
      Searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images available with fee-based subscription. Searching Ancestry's databases is free, and then viewing the final results in the genealogical datasets is available by paid subscription. A search serves up a "Ranked Search Result" based on your query. The displayed list of results indicates which of the many databases has a possible match, as well as suggestions to help you refine your search. Following the links for the search hits will result in one of two things: if you are already a paid subscriber you will see the database matches right away; if you are not yet a subscriber you are pointed to a "landing page" that gives you options to become a paid subscriber to one of Ancestry's membership packages.
    • Automated Genealogy 
      Indices to Canadian Censuses.
    • Census of Canada, 1911 - ArchiviaNet - Library and Archives of Canada 
      This online database of 1911 census data from Library and Archives Canada allows researchers to search by geographic location only. As this is not a name index database, it is not searchable by family name. The information on these images can be used to prepare family or town/village histories, research immigration trends and a great deal more. The Fifth General Census of Canada began on June 1, 1911 and collected information related to each inhabitant of the country, including place of habitation, marital status, age, place of birth, religion, occupation, education, etc. The Census of Canada 1911 covered the nine provinces (British Columbia, Alberta, Saskatchewan, Manitoba, Ontario, Quebec, New Brunswick, Nova Scotia and Prince Edward Island) and two territories (the Yukon and the Northwest Territories) that were then part of Confederation. The creation of the microfilms from the original returns was authorized in 1955 with the paper records destroyed afterwards. The microfilming of these records was not of consistent quality and therefore not all images are decipherable. Unfortunately, the destruction of the paper records means that there is no recourse when a record is unreadable.
    • Census Online - Ontario 
    • National Archives of Canada - Federal Census of 1871 (Ontario Index) 
    • The Olive Tree Genealogy: Census Records in Ontario 
      Search census records for Ontario, Canada at Olive Tree Genealogy with my *NEW* search engines for the index to 1871 Ontario Census and the 1901 Canadian Census images plus my Olive Tree online census databases, and links to free and pay-to-view census records.
    • Ontario 1871 Census 
      Census links, name listings, free databases and awesome facts concerning the Ontario 1871 Census.
    • OntarioGenWeb's Census Project 
      An ongoing project to transcribe all known Ontario census records from the 1790's up to and including 1911.
    • Ontario Vital Statistics Project 
    • Toronto 1911 Census Street Finder 
      Searchable database of streets as found in the 1911 census for the City of Toronto and York Township. Enter a street name and it will tell you in what districts and sub-districts you will find that street.
    • Town of Ingersoll Historical Census 
      Index to the 1851, 1861, 1871, 1881, 1891, 1901 Censuses for the town of Ingersoll, Oxford County, Ontario, Canada. It is meant to be used in conjuction with the corresponding census microfilm, to obtain complete information.

    LeafLand

    LeafMiscellaneous

    LeafObituaries

    LeafVital Records: Birth, Marriage, Death


    Religion & Churches


    Societies & Groups



    LeafReport a Broken Link / Update a LinkLeaf




    Cyndi's List of Genealogy Sites on the Internet - Canada - Ontario
    Webmaster & Owner: Cyndi Howells, Cyndi@CyndisList.com
    Updated Saturday, 31 July 2010, 10:00:40 PM PDT

    [Copyright © 1996-2010 Cyndi Howells. All rights reserved.]   [Disclaimers]   [Privacy]   [FAQ]   [Support Us]
    This site may be freely linked to but not duplicated in any fashion without the author's consent.
    Background and title banner graphics property of Cyndi Howells.

    Cyndi's List of Genealogy Sites on the Internet


    Advertisements
    WDYTYA Sweeps